My Blueberry Nights (2007)

Directed by: Kar Wai Wong (2046, In the Mood For Love, Happy Together)
Cast: Norah Jones, Jude Law, Natalie Portman, Rachel Weisz, David Strathairn, Chan Marshall (known to the music lovers as Cat Power)

I must admit. When I first heard about this movie and seen the cast I raised my eyebrow and remained skeptical. Don’t get me wrong, I love Jude Law and Natalie Portman, Rachel Weisz was fantastic in The Fountain. Norah Jones and Cat Power are among my favourite singers.
But still…I was used to Tony Leung Chiu Wai – which actually was in all other Wong‘s movies I’ve seen – and all the Asian chicks and places, habits and costumes. So I was afraid I will not taste this new Wong flavour.

I’m glad I was wrong. This movie was excellent – and yet I’m sure there will be enough people who will not like it – from the action to the actors (great choices) and music.

Elizabeth (Norah Jones) finds out her boyfriend has an affair and decides to leave him. She goes into this cafe where she knows he goes, and decides to leave him her keys there. She meets Jeremy (Jude Law), who’s the owner of the place. She comes back a few times and always eats blueberry pie with ice cream – first time they do that, Cat Power’s The Greatest fills the silence. The moment is perfect.
She asks him why he keeps all those keys people leave him.

If I threw them these keys away then those doors would be closed forever. And that shouldn’t be up to me to decide. Should it?

She sees herself on the survailence camera at Jeremy’s cafe – cring and broken hearted. She decides to leave New York…to leave the pain and everything, right under her former apartment’s window.

How do you say goodbye to someone you don’t imagine leaving without? I didn’t say goodbye. I didn’t say anything. I just walked away.

She wonders around, meets people who influence her one way or another, but she always sends Jeremy postcards, with thoughts and news.

I wonder how you remember me. As the girl who liked blueberry pies? Or the girl with the broken heart?

(this moment achieves perfection – in my oppinion – thanks to Cassandra Wilson‘s Harvest Moon as a sundtrack)

After almost a year she comes back to New York. There’s a reservation at Jeremy’s counter…a plate for blueberry pie and icecream, just like the last time she was there – and she saw herself and then drank her sorrow away, not remembering the rest.

Elizabeth: Well don’t you have a tape I can watch?
Jeremy: I do, but…I watched it so many times the picture’s starting fading to black and white and now it’s completly unwatchable.

I think these are actually my favourite lines in the movie.

At the end of the movie I have concluded that Jeremy and Elizabeth’s song is Cat Power‘s The Greatest, and I am pretty sure there couldn’t have been a better choice.

I love the way it was shoot…the action seeming in the second plan, not to disturb the people in it, to interfere. Like a person looking from behind a curtain or from the dark corner, so he won’t have a fault or caontribute with something that could have a consequence – Wong has this element in his other movies, too, and I think is one of those things that make me love his work. It was weird though, cause it had a little more lines that I was used to in his movies.

The soundtrack is also fantastic, this one also adapted to the place and the chracters – including Cat Power, Norah Jones, Ry Cooder.

My Blueberry Nights is one of the most beautiful movies I’ve seen lately and I strongly recommend it to anyone. I’ve already marked it as a favourite.

5 thoughts on “My Blueberry Nights (2007)

  1. You can raise just one eyebrow at will? I love that. There was this girl who used to.. ahem.. yeah. Nevermind.When I read the cast I also made a gesture, although mine was a little more pompous (meaning, kicked the monitor, threw away the chair, stepped over my grandma). I mean, Norah Jones? Couldn’t they get someone more.. feminine? I remember reading an interview in a Rolling Stone.. I don’t like girls like that. Anyway.. her and Jude Law? Yuck. But.. I’m gonna see it anyway. See, this girl intimidated me and practically forced me to see it–otherwise, she’d kill my conejo Pepito (this is a reference to the spanish-dubbed Simpsons)

  2. Believe it or not, Norah is pretty great in this movie. The role fits her like a glove. It was a real surprise to me, too.

    And yes, I can raise my eyebrow at will, but only the left one. And when I am really surprised, it raises alone :))

Leave a Reply

