A certain way with words

I’ve said it before, Marillion have a certain way of saying the things I want or sometimes wanted to say.
They have the perfect dose of melancholy in their music, that great message that you just couldn’t find the words to say. The perfect rhythm to say it to.
They have a certain magic in their music. It’s probably why I like them so much.

They always make me think of how I’ve done things in the past. What I would like to fix and if it would be a good idea to do something now, or I would just make the situation worse.

Yes…it’s a kind of mending band for me. It’s always been close to my heart. Tonight I dug another favourite of mine, House. The trumpet is amazing. The conclusion still is that I’m not gonna try again anymore. I haven’t for quite some time. I never will again. The past is in the past. And I’m really satisfied with my decision.

Again, with full lyrics. Cause it’s Marillion.

This house aches
I whistle it’s tune
After so much noise
Freedom is silence

Half the house is missing
Taken half of me with it
I had imagined this
Hurting in a different way
Hurting in a different way

I still have the hi-fi
Quiet at all volumes
As my dull thoughts
Echo viscous and slow like the tolling of some great bell under water

When she cries she cuts me
And when she smiles I wanna die
Afraid of knowing myself
Our eyes stare out while we hide inside

Looking at it, not seeing it
Looking at it, not seeing it

The open windows
Let in the spring air today
And the birds sing their thankfully happy, brainless song
But the silence here finds a way to stay
Some kind of explosion
God, if you hear me
Throw me a line or strike me down
Do you refuse even to accuse
C’mon, do your worst
But lift this curse

Built this house on solid ground
But now it’s crumbling tumbling down
Will nobody here even cry out for help?
As it slowly collapses into itself

Looking at it, not seeing it
Looking at it, not seeing it

Hanging on to this pain
It’s no good
It’s no good

But we try again
We try again

Leave a Reply

