Opium: Diary of a Madwoman (2007)


Directed by: János Szász
Cast: Ulrich Thomsen, Kirsti Stubø, Zsolt László

Last movie I saw in this festival. My 15th. It was a really nice period of time. The theaters were full almost every time. A lot of people. A lot of faces. Very nice.

I’ve been wanting to see this movie from the first day I’ve browsed the program. Only last night I managed to see it. I’m glad I didn’t gave up (I almost did because an hour before it started, it was raining cats and dogs).

The story takes place in 1913 in a monastery for mad women. A new doctor arrives there and he takes great interest in a certain patient, Gizella.
Dr. Brenner has his own problems as he is addicted to morphine and likes cheap sex. Gizella has this amazing appetite for writing something she calls her journal. The doctor becomes more and more interested in her story and they develop such a relationship that she ends up calling themselves husband and wife.
Beautiful story and most of all, I loved Gizella and the way the movie was filmed. I admit it has some pervert scenes but the movie is great nevertheless.
A must see.

seen @ T.I.F.F.

Leave a Reply

