Jeff Buckley: Everybody Here Wants You (2002)

Directed by: Serena Cross
Appearances: Brad Pitt, Jimmy Page, Patti Smith, Badly Drawn Boy, Elizabeth Fraser

Apparently I’m not totally gone. I think balconies have some magic of their own. I got out from my room, because of the heat, and thought of watching something on the balcony, and just for kicks I tried to find some public wireless hub, and I actually found one πŸ˜€ So I’m connected. Therefore, there may be some updates πŸ™‚

Right now, for example want to tell you about something awesome I watched Friday night.

I’m talking about BBC’s documentary about the amazing musician and guy that was Jeff Buckley.
I found out many things about him, his music and his relation with his biological father, the musician Tim Buckley. I’m not really familiar with his music, but I will surely check him out soon.
I was, as in the Joe Strummer’s case, amazed by how many great people gather to talk so beautifully about Jeff.
I emotionally enjoyed the footage with him performing live, the cutouts from interviews.

I especially liked Brad Pitt‘s story about how he reacted when he first heard Grace from his wife (I think he was talking about Jennifer Aniston, taking into account that the documentary was made in 2002) and knew nothing about Jeff or his music

“Where have I been? Do I know nothing?”

He now declared himself one of Jeff‘s fans, and is amazed by how few people know his music.

“I’m constantly surprised that so many people don’t know about him, still. And at the same time, there’s something very very beautiful about that”

Another person who speaks fondly of him is Liz Fraser (Cocteau Twins, This Mortal Coil) who was his girlfriend for a period. I’ve told you a few posts agoΒ about the beautiful song that came out of their love πŸ™‚
She was actually recording Massive Attack‘s Teardrop when she found out about Jeff‘s death.

I know I’ve mentioned it before but Jeff‘s death came way too soon, and I feel really good to see that so many other great people think this, along with his regular fans.
Jeff Buckley was last seen at age of 30 (something), singing Led Zeppelin (which was one of his favourite bands)’s Whole Lotta Love and swimming in the Mississippi river. He disappeared in a matter of seconds, fully dressed, with his boots on and everything, during a storm. His body was found a few days later.

Although there were rumors he took something that night, the autopsy denied that. He was clean, as he wanted to maintain his image all his life.

Funny how life hits you 😐

Leave a Reply

