The Fall (2006)

Directed by: Tarsem Singh

Cast: Catinca Untaru, Justine Waddell, Lee Pace, Kim Uylenbroek, Marcus Wesley

In one week, 4 or 5 different people recommended me to see The Fall, all being sure that I will love it. Becaue I trust my friends, I went totally blank. Withouth reading anything about it, I got the movie and watched it.
Well, I am lucky cause I have such nice friends, that know me so well, ’cause the truth it I loved the movie very very much.
Starting with the story and the characters, and most of all the visuals. The colours are amaizing, and I read on the internet, afterwards that Tarsem Singh did it all oldschool – all the colours are real.

The story is quite simple. A little Romanian girl, Alexandria, is in a hospital in LA in the 20s, with a broken arm. She wanders around the hospital and meets Roy, a stuntman that got into an accident and wants to end his life. They become friends, but only because Roy needs the little girl. So they spend time together, Alexandria listening to a beautiful story that Roy comes up with. Needless to say that things get complicated, but I’m not gonna tell you how.
I especially liked Catinca Untaru, the girl that played Alexandria. Never heard of her, or seen her in any Romanian movies, but she was soo good and innocent and natural. I hope she’ll have a bright future.
I was pretty impressed by the choice of characters, a weird combination of people and cultures all brought together by and with a  common goal.
Strong moments – in my opinion: the ritual of the Mistic, as he reveals the path they must follow, and the wedding ritual. Amazing vizuals in both of them.
Another strong point was the music, which went perfectly with the visuals.
I really loved the movie and I will surely watch it again, soon.

3 thoughts on “The Fall (2006)

  1. You really really must see this movie!
    1) thank you, it was high time 🙂
    2) I was not really hiding it in the first place, but yeah, people found it :))

  2. Oh, yeah, and I found this picture of me having coffee – last year in a coffee shop I loved, but closed down this spring 😦

Leave a Reply

