Yrsa Sigurðardóttir – Þriðja táknið

My passion for Iceland went a step forward this week. I read my first Icelandic-author book – Last Rituals by Yrsa Sigurðardóttir

Yrsa made her debut in literature writing children’s books. Last Rituals (2005) was actually her first adult book. I was a bit skeptical when I picked it up (I was quite surprised to find it in a small library) and read the description on its back. Mainly cause I’m not a fan of the crime/thriller genre neither in books nor movies, but I was way too curious not to read it.

I’m happy about my decision. The book turned out to be a really nice reading: the action is really well built, it has suspense at the key points, it’s not predictable at all, and the characters are quite believable. 

I’d like to see a movie based on this book. With MugisonBjörk and other Icelandic goodies as soundtrack 😀

Coincidence or not, the main character, Thóra, has the same last name as Björk  – Guðmundsdóttir 😉

I most definitely should check out more Icelandic literature. The only problem would be finding it 🙂

5 thoughts on “Yrsa Sigurðardóttir – Þriðja táknið

  1. de ce nu (începi să) înveţi limba islandeză? Văd că pe livemocha.com există un curs de islandeză.

Leave a Reply

