in absentia

*great albums : In Absentia by Porcupine Tree*

I remember when I first listened to this album. Not the date, but the day. It was sunny and warm; spring was starting. I was just home from school (I was a senior in high school) and I opened my window to let the warm fresh air in; turned on my computer, poured a cup of cola and squeezed half a lemon in it.
A friend of mine sent me a lot of new music. I have no idea why I chose this particular album, from about 40, but there I was. My first interaction with Porcupine Tree: the explosive start of Blackest Eyes. Everything stopped with me. The room smelled like spring and lemons, it was Friday and I literally felt like I had nothing to do but listen to this beautiful thing pouring from my speakers. As loudly as possible.

(Prodigal by Porcupine Tree)

Now, if it were only for the music, In Absentia wouldn’t make it in a top 3 Porcupine Tree albums. But for the fact that it was my first, that I remember that day so well, I will always love it.

3 thoughts on “in absentia

Leave a Reply

