how days creep by in the greying sky

When I was in high school I used to watch a lot of movies on TV with my mum. Most of the times on HBO. Didn’t really matter what it was, we would sit and watch the first few minutes to see if it gets to us.
One evening we were watching Crazy/Beautiful and suddenly a song hit me hard. From the very first notes. I scribbled a few lyrics to search them on the internet. I found out it was Emiliana Torrini‘s To Be Free. I couldn’t find her music anywhere at the time, but it always stuck to my brain that I really need to listen to some more of her music.
Finally, about a year and a half later, I came across Love In the Time of Science, the album which starts with To Be Free. I listened to it obsessively day after day after day. I grew to love Emiliana‘s voice and later pretty much all her releases.
Even though now I probably listen one of her albums a month, I still consider her one of my favourite female voices and love each of her albums. But none as much as Love In the Time of Science.

Today, I suddenly had the urge to listen to it. I think I haven’t in more than 3 months. It’s still incredibly beautiful: so smooth, so well balanced – jumping from dramatic songs to upbeat ones and none of the them are fillers. And I just realized I still know almost all of its lyrics πŸ™‚

(Fingertips by Emiliana Torrini)

Guess this is one of the albums that stood the test of time.

Leave a Reply

