But down in your arms I am a wild creature.

Another one of those bands that I’ve been ignoring for I have o idea what reasons, are The Mountain Goats. Well, basically it’s the project of John Darnielle, but he has several other people around him.
My first two obsessions – Dinu Lipatti’s Bones and Broom People are provided by the The Sunset Tree album. Such honest and simple music, in spite of the complicated subjects it deals with (death, domestic violence, drugs and alcohol). Simply beautiful.

I write down good reasons to freeze to death
In my spiral ring notebook
But in the long tresses of your hair
I am a babbling brook

(Broom People by The Mountain Goats)

9 thoughts on “But down in your arms I am a wild creature.

  1. I’m probably very close to being a fanatic MG fan.
    Sunset Tree is my favorite album, largely because it’s the first I fell in love with.

    • I’m just starting to discover The Mountain Goats’ beauty, but it very often happens that the first album I listen to from a band will remain my big love – especially if it’s a great one, like The Sunset Tree.
      Guess we’ll have to wait and see.

    • I think they have so many sides and can help in so many ways I’m yet not able to figure out. And though you have been listening to them for a lot longer than me, you don’t know them yet, either. And this is what makes bands awesome…the ability to keep interested even the people who have been listening to their music for a long time.

  2. I don’t think I’ve ever been nor will I ever be as heartbroken as this, so, you know, the need never arose. But I love this band so much.

    • Well…you actually never know. You might be worse than this. I don’t wanna minimize your pain or anything, but you never know with the future…I wish you won’t though…and you’ll somehow get over this. Good to see something helps at least a tiny bit.

  3. πŸ™‚ I’m like insanely better now. Nothing helps with heartbreak as seeing the person in question again and being disappointed out of your skull. πŸ™‚ I’m happy-ish now. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

